¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat (Vinyl Release!)

¡ESSO! Afrojam Funkbeat is a dynamic musical ensemble formed in Chicago in 2013. They perform a variety of roots rock inspired dance music from North, Central, and South America, as well as the Caribbean Islands. The ethnically diverse musicians establish energizing polyrhythmic grooves and combine biting twang guitars, thumping bass, with the strength of brass horns, group singing, and urban poetry. Members: Armando Pérez, Kevin Miller, Dan Lieber, Ezra Lange, Diana Mosquera, Puerko Pitzotl, Jess Anzaldua, Matt Davis, and Luis Tubens all bring a vital cultural contribution to the band's unique "afrojam funkbeat" sound. Inspired by Chicago's soulful blues, jazzy house, and global fusion heavyweights, the group deliver their performances with purpose and verve; unifying listeners through sound and dance. ¡ESSO! was awarded "Best New Band," and "Best World/International Music Act" by the Chicago Reader's Poll in 2016. Their latest album offering, Pueblo Unido, is a remix album of their debut record. Fresh back from an appearance at SXSW and their first festival date in México, ESSO is planning a national tour in the Summer of 2017 to bring their music to new listeners across the states and beyond.  More info and music: www.essoafrojamfunkbeat.com 

Past Shows

  • Sat, Mar 29 - 8:30pm - $10
  • Sat, Jun 28 - 9pm - $12
  • Fri, Oct 9 - 9pm - $15adv/$17door
  • Fri, Apr 22 - 9pm - $10adv/$12door
  • Sat, Apr 22 - 10pm - $25
  • Sat, Aug 11 - 9pm - $10adv/$12door