Tue, Oct 13 - 8pm - $7
David Schulman & Quiet Life Motel
By turns nocturnal, reflective, funky, and cinematic, the music of electric violinist and composer David Schulman is a weave of jazz harmonies, shimmering orchestral textures, and frolicsome grooves. His sound has been called “mysterious and beautiful” by the Washington Post. Selections from David’s debut album, “Quiet Life Motel,” have been heard nationally on NPR and frequently licensed by choreographers and podcasters. The Washington City Paper has described his music as “spontaneous and completely unique.” An avid collaborator with modern dance companies, David has created, performed and recorded original dance scores heard at venues including The Kennedy Center, PS21, Dance Place, The Alden Theater, Dance Exchange, Kunst-Stoff Arts, The Clarice Smith Center, and The Paul Taylor Studios. Through a longstanding partnership with the DC Jazz Festival, David has developed special museum programs improvising art into music. These programs, offered at leading museums including The Walters and the Phillips Collection, invite audiences along a shared journey of interpretation. A student of Betty Gross, Carol Amado, and the legendary jazz, salsa, and disco violinist Eddie Drennon, David thrives on using contemporary tools to extend the traditions of charanga and mambo. These styles emerged from 19th-century jam sessions of musicians from the opera houses of Latin America. David’s “Quiet Life Motel” trio — violin, congas, and bass — takes inspiration from the spirit of those cross-cultural jams, and the irresistible rhythms of cumbia, danzon, and bachata.
read more
read less
Wes John Cichosz
Songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Wes John Cichosz creates strong, acoustic-based, cross-genre rock. Thick, deep grooves with heady jazz undertones. Songs could be loosely termed Progressive Rock though they have a more fluid sound than is typically associated with the genre. He is joined by some of Chicago’s finest including Chris Siebold (Gtr.), Paul Mutzabaugh (Keys), Tim Fox (Bass), and Dan Leali (Drums).
read more
read less


Wed, Oct 14 - 8pm - $10
Thu, Oct 15 - 8pm - $10
Sat, Oct 17 - 9:30pm - $12adv/$15door
Mon, Oct 19 - 8pm - $8
Tue, Oct 20 - 8pm - $10adv/$12door
Wed, Oct 21 - 8pm - $20
Thu, Oct 22 - 8pm - $7
Fri, Oct 23 - 9:30pm - $15
Tue, Oct 27 - 8pm - $8
Wed, Oct 28 - 8pm - $17.50
Thu, Oct 29 - 8pm - $8 - All Ages
Sat, Oct 31 - 9pm - $8
Mon, Nov 2 - 8pm - $7
Tue, Nov 3 - 8pm - $7
Wed, Nov 4 - 8pm - $7
Thu, Nov 5 - 9:30pm - No Cover