Tonight

Fri, Sep 22 - 9pm - $12adv/$15door
Honey Island Swamp Band
Take a late-night stroll through downtown New Orleans and you’ll hear a thousand flavours of music spill from the clubs. Spin the new album by the Crescent City’s new favourite sons, meanwhile, and you’ll hear a band who embody that eclectic spirit. “There are songs here for every mood, occasion or playlist,” explains Honey Island Swamp Band’s Aaron Wilkinson of Demolition Day, “so hopefully it will appeal to a lot of musical tastes. Just make sure you turn it up loud…” Released in 2016 on Ruf Records, Demolition Day is the band’s fourth full-length studio release and marks a milestone in their career. The album title cuts deep. It’s just over a decade since Hurricane Katrina tore along the Gulf Coast, plunging New Orleans into devastation, but throwing together four Big Easy evacuees who found themselves marooned in San Francisco. Aaron Wilkinson (acoustic guitar/mandolin/vocals), Chris Mulé (electric guitar/vocals), Sam Price (bass/vocals) and Garland Paul (drums/vocals) were already on nodding terms from their hometown circuit, but when the four men joined forces for a weekly residency at San Francisco’s Boom Boom Room, the chemistry was undeniable. By 2009, the lineup had released award-winning debut Wishing Well, enlisted Hammond B-3 wizard Trevor Brooks and placed one foot onto the podium of New Orleans greats. Ten years and a thousand gigs down the line, that same battle-hardened lineup took just four days to track Demolition Day at The Parlor Recording Studio in New Orleans with famed producer Luther Dickinson (also leader of the North Mississippi Allstars and ex-Black Crowes guitarist). “We had a very tight window to record,” Wilkinson recalls, “so we had to minimalise in places and really pack a lot of emotion into each take. Luther calls it ‘the freedom of limitation’ and it really served us well on this album.”
read more
read less
 
4 Star Brass Band
The 4 Star Brass Band sound can be categorized as Heavy Funk, and is the best thing you’ve ever heard! They get this captivating sound by using all brass instruments. They remain true to the tradition of brass band while also incorporating modern sound into it. Dave and Jay started the band a few years ago looking to start a brass band in Chicago. They started playing bars/ clubs in the city, bringing the party wherever they went. The band slowly grew, and now Four Star features a rotating cast of 6 musicians who all share a love for New Orleans music. Come fuel the excitement as FOUR STAR BRASS BAND becomes the Hottest and Hardest Hitting Brass Band of this Generation!
read more
read less
 

Upcoming

Mon, Sep 25 - 7pm - $7
Tue, Sep 26 - 8pm - $10
Thu, Sep 28 - 8pm - $12adv/$15door
Fri, Sep 29 - 9pm - $20
Sat, Sep 30 - 9pm - $20
Mon, Oct 2 - 7pm - $5
Tue, Oct 3 - 8pm - $10
Wed, Oct 4 - 7pm - $25
Fri, Oct 6 - 9pm - $15
Sat, Oct 7 - 8:30pm - $10adv/$12door
Sun, Oct 8 - 3pm - $20 - All Ages
Tue, Oct 10 - 8pm - $40adv/$50door
OPEN
Wed, Oct 11 - 8pm - $10
Fri, Oct 13 - 9pm - $15adv/$18door
Sat, Oct 14 - 3pm - $11 - All Ages
Sat, Oct 14 - 5pm - $11 - All Ages